Apple Tree Yard revisited


It looks, from the reviews, as if I may have done Apple Tree Yard a disservice by switching it off as early as I did, before the real centre of the story – Yvonne Carmichael’s rape, and her response to it – had chance to happen.

The show has received praise for its realistic, non-exploitative treatment of the assault, and Yvonne’s response to it, which sounds entirely true to life as it exists and not to the simplistic ideal that both television and real life expect.

However, what I said about the writing still stands and my first impression still sticks, so I will maintain my distance. But the tenor of the reviews suggest that the programme may be better than the flaws that I was not prepared to ignore, and fairness insists that I make that point.

2 thoughts on “Apple Tree Yard revisited

Leave a Reply

