Not since the last century…


I’ve popped into Manchester City Centre today to post an item sold on eBay and to carry out my monthly visits to Forbidden Planet and Pizza Hut. The latter was distinguished by a very sweet young lady acting as my waitress, who made me wish that if only I was forty years younger… but then I remember what I was like back then and she’d still never have had anything to do with me (and she would have been right, dammit).

But I had a delightful surprise in the former where, in addition to my monthly copy of Astro City, they’d saved me a complete set of the DC/Looney Tunes crossover specials. Team-ups like Batman vs Elmer Fudd, Superman & Bugs Bunny and the one with the single greatest idea, Lobo vs the Road Runner, with Wile E. Coyote hiring th’ Main Man to assassinate ol’ Meep Meep. Tell me that’s not an idea of hilarious proportions.

I’ve loved reading them all, and, with the possible exception of Suicide Squad meet the Banana Splits, this set are universally better than the Easter-time DC/Hanna Barbera crossovers.

But the point is that this added up to 8 (eight) new comics in one session, and I’ve been wracking my brains to try to remember the last time I bought so many copies in a single purchase and I can’t remember any time this would have been viable in the last twenty years.

Not since the last century, then…

CI got the serious cover, not this one…

Leave a Reply

